Frank Ocean is STILL Dope

Excerpt from Tumblr post

“4 summers ago, I met somebody. I was 19 years old. He was too. We spent that summer, and the summer after, together. Everyday almost. And on the days we were together, time would glide. Most of the day I’d see him, and his smile. I’d hear his conversation and his silence … until it was time to sleep. Sleep I would often share with him. By the time I realized I was in love, it was malignant. It was hopeless. There was no escaping, no negotiation with the feeling. No choice. It was my first love, it changed my life.

Back then, my mind would wander to the women I had been with, the ones I cared for and thought I was in love with. I reminisced about the sentimental songs I enjoyed when I was a teenager … the ones I played when I experienced a girlfriend for the first time. I realized they were written in a language I did not yet speak. I realized too much, too quickly……………I sat there and told my friend how I felt. I wept as the words left my mouth. I grieved for them, knowing I could never take them back for myself. He patted my back. He said kind things. He did his best. But he wouldn’t admit the same. He had to go back inside soon. It was late and his girlfriend was waiting for him upstairs. He wouldn’t tell me the truth about his feelings for me for another 3 years. I felt like I’d only imagined reciprocity for years. Now imagine being thrown from a cliff. No, I wasn’t on a cliff. I was still in my car telling myself it was gonna be fine and to take deep breaths. I took the breaths and carried on. I kept up a peculiar friendship with him because I couldn’t imagine keeping up my life without him. I struggled to master myself and my emotions. I wasn’t always successful.”


And there you have it. Frank Ocean informs the world that he’s a homosexual……..or bisexual. Whatever he is, it shouldn’t matter.  He posted this on his Tumblr not for everybody to form new opinions about him, but to free himself.  I’m not gonna say that it shouldn’t affect the way you listen to his music from now on because it will.  You’ll probably find yourself asking questions about his lyrics. “Is he talking about a guy? Is he talking about THAT guy?”  But it shouldn’t decide whether or not you’ll continue to enjoy his music.  If tomorrow one of 2Pac’s close friends reveals that Pac was a flamer, would you put your W’s down & get a laser removal of your “Thug Life” tattoo?  Or stop doing the “Thriller” choreo whenever the video is playing on VH1 Classic if MJ really sodomized those little kids? I don’t think so.

Oh, you would? ……………… Then you’re what i call a dipshit. ….. An ignoramus.

You really think Frank Ocean’s sexual preference is a detriment to his talent?  This guy’s voice is what made him in the 1st place.  He didn’t have an image. His music spoke volumes & attracted listeners, not his appearance or interests.  There are still people out there that don’t know he’s a member of Odd Future.

 

Dickhead #1: “He’s down with OFWGKTA?!! I don’t even like him no more. I hate Odd Future.”

Dickhead #2: “How can he be affiliated with Tyler, The Creator? He’s always saying “faggot this, faggot that” He’s like…homophobic, or something.”

 

Let me clear something up for all you Dickhead #2’s out there.  Words have multiple meanings. Don’t believe me?  Ask Webster.  The word “faggot” isn’t always used to belittle gays.  Just like the word “bitch” isn’t always used against a female.  It may not always make sense, but that’s just the reality.  It’s all in the context in which they are used.

What was I talking about before you faggots forced me to clear shit up? ………OH YEAH! Back to Mr. Ocean.

The dude is brave, son.  Do you know how many fudgepackin’ MC’s are out there in the Hip-Hop world that don’t have the balls to come out to the world like that because they think it’ll ruin their career? … Me neither.  But i bet they’re out here somewhere.   And no, it doesn’t make it easier to come out the closet if you’re a singer, Dickhead #3.  Sit yo ass down.

“Novacane”, “Swim Good”, “We All Try”, & the last joint he put out, “Pyramids” are all dope as fuck!  You dickheads can go right ahead & stop listening over dumbass reasons if y’all want.  You’ll just look like a faggot bitch who doesn’t know why you like anything at all.

Happy 4th of July, y’all!  *hand glides off cliff*

4 thoughts on “Frank Ocean is STILL Dope

Leave a Comment

